Posted by: Ken Homer | November 1, 2008

The Real Difference Between Conservatives and Liberals

In my book – make that – in my blog, the TED Talks ranks as one of the most useful things you can find on the internet. It is a veritable treasure trove of information, entertainment and provocative ideas. The other day a friend of mine was tweeting* about the TED Blog, which led me to view a recently posted  TED talk video by Jonathan Haidt on what he calls the Five Foundations of the Moral Mind and which he titled: The Real Difference Between Conservatives and Liberals. 

Being of a liberal bent, I enjoyed his humor, and as I came to understand the profundity of his research, I found myself wishing that he himself had a more conservative presentation style – then I considered the audience he was speaking to and I cut him some more slack.

While what Haidt says may not be exactly “true” when it comes to the shaping of our moral functioning, the utility of this model is remarkable. Anyone whose work involves people who are very different from themselve is likely to find in this short talk a portal to a whole new way of seeing other people that can bring forth way more possibilities for collaboration then they ever dreamed possible. Enjoy!

*Tweeting for those unfamiliar with the term, is what people do on Twitter – a kind of microblogging site where you can only write 140 characters at a time. I am @ken_homer if you want to follow me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

