Posted by: Ken Homer | February 9, 2009

John Lewis and the KKK

I am on my way to Washington, DC to present three workshops at the CACDA (Community Anti-drug Coalitions of America) National Leadership Forum. I am very excited to be to sharing the stage with Peter Block, as well as with my pal LaDonna Coy, who has one of the best minds in the prevention field.

My workshops will focus on Accessing the Wisdom of Crowds, and Coping With Wicked Messes. Thanks to LaDonna’s encouragement and expertise, both of these workshops will soon be making their debut as online courses. Stay tuned for more on how you can participate in them.

Rumor has it that Rep John Lewis may be among the attendees. I have no idea if I will have a chance to meet this great man, but today a friend on Facebook alerted me to this remarkable video showing him forgiving a man who literally beat the hell of Lewis during the early days of the Civil Rights movement in the South. I have to admit, this got me pretty choked up. When a man like Elwin Wilson overcomes a lifetime of hatred and makes public amends, I find my faith in humanity a little more restored.

And here is a follow up…



Responses

  1. Thanks for that, Ken

  2. It always hurts the hater more than the hated. The number one reason to forgive.

  3. Just passing by.Btw, your website has great content!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

